You are here: Home > Court of Honor

Court of Honor

The Court of Honor, formed by the three wings of the National Headquarters building, was established in 1957 to help pay tribute to the great men and women of Exchange. The majestic statue, “Birth of the Atomic Age,” created by the renowned sculptor Marshall Fredericks, stands in a reflecting pool with fountains. Several large granite pylons at the rear of the Court display the inscribed names of inductees. The Court of Honor lay dormant for many years until being re-established and renovated in 1997.

There are more than 90 names inscribed on the Court of Honor pylons, including Charles Berkey, the founder of Exchange; Dr. Edward R. North Jr., founder of the National Exchange Club Foundation for the Prevention of Child Abuse; Thomas L. Bailey, author of the Covenant of Service; and Herold M. Harter, who served as Exchange’s national secretary for 44 years.


A lasting tribute

The highest and most lasting recognition an Exchangite can receive is  induction into the Court of Honor. Induction is by nomination and review only. Candidates selected for induction are invited to an annual induction ceremony where their permanently inscribed names are unveiled.

2016 Inductees:COH Inductees image


Inductees 1957 to present:

D. Russell Bontrager M. Allen Barth Gerald Franklin Robert D. Harb
Charles A. Berkey Fred Harron Carl Lemcool S. Kim Hodges
Herold M. Harter W. James “Jim” Brown, Jr. Dan Robinson Fenton C. Miller, Jr.
M.H. “Bud” Edell Billy Joseph Sills Tom Zupancic Lou Molitor
J.D. Dickey Myrtle M. Barth James M. Addis Ray C. Carlson
Ray L. Lange Augustus M. Parker Harry F. Clouser Robert L. Moore, Jr.
Ethel S. Harter Fred E. Sweigart Robert E. Hunley Kenneth A. Owens II
George Seely Johnston Herbert A. Taylor Kerry W. Mazoch David A. Salverson
Robert B. Scarborough W. Harry Jack James David Moore Dr. John M. McLaughlin
Thomas L. Bailey Joe F. Pruett Larry M. Street
John B. Congdon Roland A. “Rollie” Benson Gail E. Weller
Dr. Hugh G. Ward William C. Wodtke, Jr. Dick Freeman
Dr. Porter L. Fortune, Jr. Charles J. Krause Harold Wolf
Thomas C. Imeson Clarence McDorman H. Cameron Burn
George Bellsnyder Harold A. Petit Joseph P. Cabaniss
Stephen W. Baber J. Benjamin Brick Wendell L. Griffin
Dr. Edward R. North, Jr. Timothy W. Rose, Sr. Jimmy D. Wiggs
John H. Awtry Thomas W. Dawson Henry Berlin
W. Nolan Leonard Millard A. Beckum Claude W. Carmack
Elmer M. Barr V.C. Hilligoss John D. Hood
George Ow Harold C. Kooyers Ellie Royal
Harold E. Warren Robert L. Gray, Sr. Doris E. Ash
Bonnie J. Franks Israel I. Idelsohn Ralph J. Carlson
Myers Y. Cooper W. Dale Yarbrough Steven Douglas
Earl M. Templin Roy H. Deese Allan S. Livingston
James M. Brown Charles F. Braddock Robert L. Sharp
Charles P. Lorett Frank J. Sego Floyd A. Culver
Martha Kinney Cooper Tom Fleetwood William C. Kohler
Henry M. Powell James R. Lazette Arthur W. McConnell
LeRoy L. Dalton Jerry J. DeFeo Sidney T. Mobley
Elvin R. Stiles Gordan B. Stine Robert Alan Davidson